My Favorite Records of 2019

Big Thief – Two Hands and U.F.O.F

“Two Hands” easily gets my top slot for record of the year. Big Thief feels like they are beyond music sometimes, touching a place in my heart that I can’t quite describe. See my previous Big Thief gush here .

Lizzo – ‘Cuz I Love You

I love the positive vibes and funky beats that Lizzo throws down. This is a fantastic record. See her below on Tiny Desk. I think it’s the best TD of 2019.


Black Belt Eagle Scout – At the Party With My Brown Friends

Living in a city with incredible musicians is something I love, and deeply. From bands that never make to it a label, to folks like KP, I feel grateful to experience them all. This record from Black Belt Eagle Scout is not to be missed. A down-tempo look at our hearts and the way we walk through this life, it’s a beautiful listen. Great set via KEXP here

Chelsea Wolfe – Birth of Violence

I saw Chelsea Wolfe a few years ago. I didn’t know her music well, but that changed after that show. “Birth of Violence” is a beautiful record, very mellow, much more low key than her previous albums. Listening to it makes me want to wear long black dresses and walk the English Moors.

Sudan Archives – Athena

This is a tremendously good first full album from artist, Sudan Archives . Landing somewhere between R&B and soul, with beautiful string work. She’s an artist to keep your eye on. 


The Replacements – Dead Man’s Pop

I realize I haven’t written much about The Mats here. They are without a doubt, one of my favorite bands of all time. I was stoked when I heard they were re-releasing Don’t Tell a Soul as an extended record. The day it arrived, I opened it with the greatest of affection. So many memories wrapped up with these songs, but now I got to experience them in a whole new way.

Thom Yorke – Anima

I’m a long time Radiohead fan, see my recent post. But I haven’t always loved Yorke’s solo records. They tended towards overly electronic, and felt a little too cold. This record is a beautiful shift, a lovely immersion into his dreamworld.

Better Oblivion Community Center – Self Titled

Conor Oberst is an artist that I’ve always respected, but have never been a super fan. He truly, truly shines here with Phoebe Bridgers. Their voices entwine beautifully.

Chastity Belt – Self Titled

Love these chill, indie goddesses from the PNW. This tranquil record is a journey you’ll want to go on.

Fontaines D.C. – Dogrel

If it wasn’t for KEXP, not sure I would have heard these chaps from the UK. This is the most bad-ass records on my list, and rightly so.

Julia Jacklin – Crushing

When this record came out, I wrote a piece on it, and how much I adore Jacklin’s music. The intimate slice of her world we get with each song, is not to be missed.

Mavis Staples – We Get By

I’m a little late to the world of Mavis Staples. I’d heard many of her songs, but never sat down with a whole record. Then I heard her interview with Marc Maron and knew that had to change immediately. “We Get By” is an absolute pleasure to listen to. We should all to go back and listen to the rest of the catalog from this iconic American artist.

Preservation Hall Jazz Band – A Tuba to Cuba

Close your eyes, imagine you’re in Havana, and this is playing in the cafe you walk into…

Purple Mountain – Purple Mountains

Heartbreaking to listen to this now, but it’s a beautiful collection of songs by David Berman. Rest in peace, brother.

FKA Twigs – MAGDALENE

While I don’t love every track on this album, it’s a thing of beauty nonetheless. Stark, breathy and tender – a lovely record.

Weyes Blood – Titanic Rising

When I first made the list, I completely forgot about this beauty. This record, like all her other work, gets right to work on stirring up emotions. Deep ones, tucked deep into the folds of your heart. She’s brilliant live, too.

Thom Yorke, Anima tour 2019.
Arlene Schnitzer Hall, Portland, Oregon
Thom Yorke – Anima tour, 2019. Portland, Oregon.

Leave a comment